Royal Court Theatre Presents Anatomy of a Suicide

Playwright Alice Birch, who wrote Revolt. She Said. Revolt Again and We Want You to Watch, continues her collaboration with director Katie Mitchell in Anatomy of a Suicide.

The production is part of the Royal Court Theatre’s Jerwood New Playwrights Programme with the support of Jerwood Charitable Foundation. It centres on three generations of women struggling with a painful legacy. Relish in a unique experience as you watch all three stories performed on stage simultaneously, which has never been done before by any other show.

In 2016, Alice was named one of the Creative England 50, a list of the boldest and brightest creative minds in the country. This is her second partnership with Katie Mitchell after last year’s Ophelia’s Zimmer.

Kate O'Flynn, Hattie Morahan, and Adelle Leonce star in Anatomy of a Suicide at the Royal Theatre.
Kate O’Flynn, Hattie Morahan, and Adelle Leonce star in Anatomy of a Suicide at the Royal Theatre. Photo courtesy of

About the cast

Hattie Morahan has performed not only on stage but on TV and film as well. Her roles include Alice in TV show The Bletchley Circle, Gale Benson in The Bank Job, and Ann in the film Mr Holmes. She was also in Beauty & the Beast, Alice Through the Looking Glass, and The Golden Compass.

Kate O’Flynn’s credits include the National Theatre productions of Port and A Taste of Honey. She also appeared in several films like Up ThereMr Turner, and Bridget Jones’ Baby.

Adelle Leonce’s theatre credits include Against (Almeida Theatre), Torn (Royal Court Theatre), and In the Night Time (The Gate Theatre). She also appeared in TV shows Black MirrorThe Break, and Strike.

Gershwyn Eustache Jnr has performed in The Malcontent (White Bear Theatre), My Heart’s a Suitcase (Oval House Theatre), and Exposed (Interchange Studios). He was also in CH4’s VIP and DSBC Productions’ Breach.

Meanwhile, Paul Hilton has starred in the Pilgrim radio dramas on BBC Radio 4’s Afternoon Play series. He also appeared in several TV programmes including Garrow’s LawThe Bill, and Silent Witness.

Joining them are Peter Hobday, Sarah Malin, Jodie McNee, and Dickon Tyrell.