Stomp Extends Booking Until April 2018 at Ambassadors Theatre

Stomp has announced it is extending its London show at the Ambassadors Theatre until April 2018.

The show takes everyday objects like newspapers, bins, and Zippo lighters. Then they use them to make a rhythmic universe that’s bursting with energy. Basically, its main premise is that anything can be turned into a beat, and anybody can pound a pattern.

Now in its 15th year in London, Stomp did its first show in 1991 in Edinburgh. The show has now played to more than 12 million people in 53 countries worldwide. Currently, there are three other companies aside from the one in London performing worldwide.

Some members of the cast on stage at Ambassadors Theatre for Stomp. Photo courtesy of
Some members of the cast on stage at Ambassadors Theatre for Stomp. Photo courtesy of

About the Stomp cast and creatives

Luke Creswell is a self-taught percussionist who took up drumming at the age of nine and left school at 15 to pursue a musical career. After 10 years of working as a street performer and musician, he co-created Stomp in 1991. As a performer in the company, Luke’s appearances include the Academy Awards, the Emmys, Quincy Jones’ album Q’s Jook Joint, and the closing ceremony of London 2012 Olympics. Moreover, in 1998, he received the special achievement award from the Chicago Human Rhythm Project for ‘Groundbreaking Achievement in Tap and Percussive Dance.’

Meanwhile, his co-founder, Steve McNicholas, worked with various theatrical and musical groups throughout his career. Some of the groups he joined are Bradford Theatre Group, Cliff Hanger, and Covent Garden Community Theatre. Steve shares directorial credits with Luke for StompThe Lost & Found Orchestra, and various films and commercials. In 1994, they both won the Laurence Olivier Award for ‘Best Theatre Choreography’.

Lastly, performing in London are Rhona Ashwood, Paul Bend, Adam Buckley, Nigel Clarke, Simone Clarke, Hugo Cortes, Helene Jank, James Lane, Serena Morgan, Alua Nascimento, Andrew Patrick, Charley Ruane, Rob Shaw, Jasper Valentine, Simon Woodall, and Elliot Young.